Quilt #2

25 05 2009

The 2nd quilt I’ve ever made is finally finished!  When I think about it, I feel like I’ve made ~100 quilts because I look at pictures of other peoples quilts so often.  But then I remember that I’ve only made 2.  This quilt, as you may remember, was inspired by the picture Amanda painted me for our birthday.  I only bought the batting and like 1/2 yd of fabric and the rest is from the huge stash of fabric I’ve acquired.  I used Warm & Natural cotton batting.  The quilting is just free motion squiggles with a few hearts thrown in when I got bored.  The binding is just pieced from random fabrics.

Full size quilt

Full size quilt

Quilting a Full Size quilt is a BIG task.  I had such a hard time getting my sewing machine to work right- it finally straightened up but I’ve concluded that no matter what I set the tension on, it’ll do whatever it pleases.  Whatev, machine, whatev.

I almost like the back more than the front!

I almost like the back more than the front!

The back is from the stash, as well.  Here is the detail:

Sailboats and anchors

Sailboats and anchors

Matt said it makes it look like a 3rd graders quilt…haha.  He really does like it and he doesn’t want it to go on the guest bed, he wants it on our bed!  It won’t fit but that is OK since we hardly ever make the bed.

Binding

Binding

“Why am I finding safety pins all over the house?!” -Matt.  It’s because I randomly find safety pins in the quilt and I just take them out and put them on whatever ledge is closest.

Will you pray for Matthew’s great-grandma Faye (Mema)?  She is in her nineties and had a heart attack today while eating out.   She had another while at the hospital.   She is the sweetest little lady and has the BEST stories.

K, gotta go to bed.  Peace, love, gymnastics.

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 05 2009
Amanda

I like the binding a lot, T. My favorite binding fabric is probably that red flowery print with the creamyellow background. I’m very excited to see it in person =)

26 05 2009
ajeftinija

Very nice! I love the sailboats and anchors!

26 05 2009
tereza

LOVE IT!!! the colors look so bold and beautiful together (not like the soap opera) :o) i can’t wait to see it and feel it on saturday!!! yeeeeee.

R.I.P memaw. she lived a good life :o)

27 05 2009
Kodi

LOVE it. Can I come visit?

13 06 2009
Kourtney

I LOVE it Tara!!!!!!! Its so cute!!! Esp the anchor fabric!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

